Seed Catalogs

Reblogged from: Laidback Gardener, Larry Hodgson

GARDEN AND SEED CATALOGS:
AN INEXHAUSTIBLE SOURCE OF DISCOVERIES!

20161219aThe first garden catalogs of the coming year usually start to show up in our mailboxes just a few weeks before Christmas. It used to be that they were always printed catalogs, and they do still exist, but more and more businesses now have either both printed and online catalogs or only online catalogs.

Usually seed catalogs are  the first to arrive, because gardeners need their products very early in the new year, as there are some seeds you have to sow as early as January (although March and April are the two main months for starting seeds indoors). And since seeds are indifferent to freezing conditions (see Ordering Seeds by Mail in Deepest Winter), they can be shipped in any season.

Garden tools and products too can be mailed to you at any time of the year, so companies specializing in garden tools also often produce the coming year’s catalog early, hoping to catch a bit of the Christmas present market, or may even have a special Christmas edition.

20161219d

Live plants are shipped once there is no danger of frost.

The catalogs offering plants (perennials, shrubs, fruit trees, etc.) are often posted later, closer to midwinter, because their delivery season doesn’t start until spring, as live plants shouldn’t be exposed to freezing temperatures while they travel. Beginning gardeners often seem surprised you can order live plants by mail, mais this is in fact nothing new: plant catalogs have been around since the 17th century and plants travel just as easily by mail as seeds.

Fall bulb catalogs are usually the latest of all to appear, usually in late spring or early summer so we can order our fall bulbs before their autumn planting season.

A Personal Passion

20161219C.gif

I’ve been a fan of garden catalogues since my childhood. I used to rifle endlessly through my father’s plant and seed catalogs and I’ve been placing my own orders for seeds and bulbs since I was 10. I almost always have great success with the seeds and plants that I buy from afar. And mail order gardening opens the door to a whole host of fascinating plants that are never offered in local garden centers.

Try it and you’ll see: it’s like a smorgasbord of incredible plants!

So Much Choice!

Below are some of my favorite plant and seed catalogues, but there are plenty of others. Do a bit of searching on Google and you’ll be able to find just about any plant you may be looking for!

  1. 20161219b-color-codesjpeg2Annie’s Annuals anniesannuals.com – annual plants
  2. Baker Lake Heirloom Seed Co. www.rareseeds.com – heirloom seeds
  3. The Banana Tree Inc. www.banana-tree.com – tropical plant sseds
  4. Bluestem Nursery www.bluestem.ca – ornamental grasses
  5. Botanus www.botanus.com – bulbs
  6. Brent and Becky’s Bulbs brentandbeckysbulbs.com – bulbs
  7. Atlee Burpee & Co. www.burpee.com – seeds
  8. Canning Perennials www.canningperennials.com – perennials
  9. Charley’s Greenhouse & Garden www.charleysgreenhouse.com – greenhouses and greenhouse products
  10. Chiltern Seeds www.chilternseeds.co.uk – seeds
  11. Cistus Nursery www.cistus.com – perennials and shrubs
  12. Digging Dog Nursery diggingdog.com – perennials and shrubs
  13. Flora Exotica www.floraexotica.ca – exotic plants.
  14. Forestfarm forestfarm.com – shrubs and trees, rhododendrons
  15. Fraser’s Thimble Farms www.thimblefarms.com – rare bulbs and perennials
  16. Gardens North new.gardensnorth.com – perennial seeds
  17. J.L. Hudson www.jlhudsonseeds.net – seeds
  18. Klehm’s Song Sparrow Farm & Nursery www.songsparrow.com – peonies, hostas, daylillies
  19. Les Jardins de Balmoral www.lesjardinsdebalmoral.com –  perennials
  20. Johnny’s Selected Seeds www.johnnyseeds.com – vegetable seed
  21. Lee Valley Tools www.leevalley.com – garden tools
  22. Logee’s Greenhouses www.logees.com – houseplants
  23. Majella Larochelle Horticulteur mlarochelle.net – perennial seeds
  24. Park Seed Co. parkseed.com – seeds
  25. Phoenix Perennials mailorder.phoenixperennials.com – perennials
  26. Renee’s Garden www.reneesgarden.com – vegetable and herb seeds
  27. Richters Herbs www.richters.com – herbs
  28. Seedaholic.com www.seedaholic.com – seeds
  29. Solana Seeds solanaseeds.netfirms.com – tomato and pepper seeds
  30. Stokes www.stokeseeds.com – seeds
  31. Territorial Seed Company www.territorialseed.com – vegetable and herb seeds
  32. Vesey’s Seeds www.veseys.com – seeds, bulbs, plants
  33. W.H. Perron www.whperron.com – seeds
  34. Wayside Gardens waysidegardens.com – perennials and shrubs
  35. White Flower Farm whiteflowerfarm.com – perennials
  36. Wrightman Alpines www.wrightmanalpines.com – alpines
Advertisements

About SCMGA

Strafford County Master Gardener Association, part of the University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension, sixty+ gardeners strong, educating through gardening in Strafford County New Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seed Catalogs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s